House Committee on Urban Affairs


Position          Member


Vice Chair:   














Rep. Cortez 

Rep. Holland

Rep. Bernal

Rep. Campos

Rep. Gates
Rep. Jarvis Johnson of Harris

Rep. Minjarez

Rep. Penny Morales

Rep. Slaton

The House Committee on Urban Affairs has 9 members, with jurisdiction over all matters pertaining to:


  • Municipalities, including their creation, organization, powers, government, and finance, and the compensation and duties of their officers and employees

  • Home-rule municipalities, their relationship to the state and their powers, authority, and limitations

  • The creation or charge of metropolitan areas and the form of government under which these areas operate

  • Problems and issues particularly affecting metropolitan areas of the state

  • Other units of local government not otherwise assigned to other standing committees

  • Establishing districts for the election of governing bodies of municipalities

  • Land use regulation by municipalities

  • The following state agencies: the Texas Department of Housing and Community Affairs and the Texas Commission on Fire Protection