House Committee on Transportation


Position          Member


Vice Chair:   



















Rep. Canales

Rep. Thompson of Brazoria

Rep. Ashby

Rep. Bucy

Rep. Davis

Rep. Harris

Rep. Landgraf

Rep. Lozano

Rep. Armando Martinez

Rep. Ortega

Rep. Perez
Rep. Rogers

Rep. Smithee 

The House Committee on Transportation has 13 members, with jurisdiction over all matters pertaining to:


  • Commercial motor vehicles, both bus and truck, and their control, regulation, licensing, and operation

  • The Texas highway system, including all roads, bridges, and ferries constituting  a part of the system

  • The licensing of private passenger vehicles to operate on the roads and highways of Texas

  • The regulation and control of traffic on the public highways of the State of Texas

  • Railroads, street railway lines, interurban railway lines, steamship companies, and express companies

  • Airports, air traffic, airlines and other organizations engaged in transportation by means of aerial flight

  • Water transportation in the State of Texas, and the rivers, harbors, and related facilities used in water transportation, as well as agencies of government exercising supervision and control thereover

  • The regulation of metropolitan transit

  • The following state agencies: the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles, the Texas Department of Transportation, and the Texas Transportation Commission

    • Permanent Subcommittee: on long term transportation infrastructure planning

    • No fewer than 7 members to consider all matters pertaining to the transportation needs of the             state during the next 10 years and funding mechanisms to provide for meeting those needs