House Committee on Homeland Security 

& Public Safety


Position          Member


Vice Chair:   














Rep. White

Rep. Bowers

Rep. Goodwin

Rep. Harless

Rep. Hefner

Rep. Morales of Maverick

Rep. Patterson

Rep. Schaefer

Rep. Tinderholt

The House Committee on Homeland Security & Public Safety has 9 members, with jurisdiction over all matters pertaining to:


  • Law enforcement

  • The prevention of crime and the apprehension of criminals

  • The provision of security services by private entities

  • Homeland security, including: the defense of the state and the nation, terrorism response, disaster mitigation, preparedness, response , and recovery

  • The following state agencies:  the Texas Commission on Law Enforcement, the Department of Public Safety,  the Texas Division of Emergency Management, the Emergency Management Council, the Texas Forensic Science Commission, the Texas Military Preparedness Commission, the Texas Private Security Board, the Commission on State Emergency Communications, the Texas Crime Stoppers Council