House Committee on Higher Education


Position          Member


Vice Chair:   















Rep. Murphy

Rep. Pacheco

Rep. Cortez

Rep. Frullo

Rep. King of Parker

Rep. Muñoz

Rep. Parker

Rep. Ortega

Rep. Raney

Rep. Chris Turner of Tarrant

Rep. John Turner of Dallas

The House Committee on Higher Education has 11 members, with jurisdiction over all matters pertaining to:


  • Education beyond high school

  • The colleges and universities of the State of Texas

  • The following state agencies: the Texas A&M Engineering Experiment State, the Texas A&M Engineering Extension Service, the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board, the Texas Guaranteed Student Loan Corporation, the Prepaid Higher Education Tuition Board, and the Texas A&M Transportation Institute

    • Permanent Subcommittee: post secondary education and workforce readiness

      • No fewer than 5 members to consider all matters pertaining to opportunities at:

      • Public or private institutions of higher education, nonprofit colleges or universities, career                   schools or colleges, any other postsecondary educational providers in the state.